Happy Thanksgiving!

On this day of national thanksgiving, take a moment to remind your loved ones of those whose sacrifice has made it possible for us to enjoy what liberty still remains.  Recommit yourself to the Constitution, and to the principles of limited government that served as the hallmark for our nation’s founding.

Forget politics for the day.  Relish your family and friends. Thank a member of the armed forces.  Hug a person whom you love.

Finally, please accept my sincere thanks on this anniversary.  The Liberty Professor’s blog is one year old.  In honor of this day I leave you the following prayer composed by George Washington at the end of the Revolutionary War.  It was forwarded to the governors of the thirteen, newly-independent states.  In sending it Washington addressed those governors as “your Excellency” because of his reverence for the sovereignty of their states.  Note as well that although Washington prays for “a spirit of subordination and obedience to government,” his vision of government was one that was severely limited in its scope and powers.  That was the only thing that truly made it valid.

The “Earnest Prayer” of General George Washington
at the Disbanding of the Continental Army
June 14, 1783

I now make it my earnest prayer that God would have you, and the State over which you preside, in his holy protection; that he would incline the hearts of the citizens to cultivate a spirit of subordination and obedience to government, to entertain a brotherly affection and love for one another, for their fellow-citizens of the United States at large, and particularly for brethren who have served in the field; and finally that he would most graciously be pleased to dispose us all to do justice, to love mercy, and to demean ourselves with that charity, humility, and pacific temper of mind, which were the characteristics of the Divine Author of our blessed religion, and without an humble imitation of whose example in these things, we can never hope to be a happy nation.

4 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Dr Switzer. You have provided many blessings for me and my family. You have been the consummate advisor and mentor for my son and you have inspired me to think beyond my traditional political beliefs. While we do not agree you make me think. There are no easy answers for our country and there will need to be compromise so that our great nation can come together. Finding a place where we can all agree must come from a sound understanding of each side. You provide that and I am grateful. You are a patriot and I thank you. God bless you, your family, your school, and The United States of America.

  2. Keith, please accept my sincere thanks for your very generous comments. I truly adore what I do at the college, and it has been a joy to work with your son and with the many other fine young people who grace our hallways. Your comments suggest that this blog is doing what I hoped it would do: provide a space for honest, passionate, and respectful political dialogue about our nation and what it needs so that its people may flourish–people of every color, ethnicity, and religious preference. God bless you and your family, sir.

    Oh, please call me “John”! It’s the name given to me at baptism by my parents, and I cherish it.

Leave a Reply

