Giving Up is Not An Option!

Honestly, it’s good to be missed.  I regret that I’ve been absent for a few weeks but I’ve once more climbed aboard the Liberty Express and I’m back in the saddle again, as they say.  (Metaphors are fun, aren’t they?)  So many friends and readers have inquired as to my whereabouts that I realized it’s time to return.  My absence has primarily been because of a recently-deceased home computer and the simple constraints placed upon me by a very busy work schedule.  So much has happened in the intervening weeks … and much more continues to evolve around us as we move closer and closer to the conventions of both major parties. 

In the meantime, the “Occupation Movement” is gaining new steam as warmer weather returns to the lovely parks where its members congregate.  Well, at least they were lovely before the occupiers returned.  It will only get worse.  I honestly fear what we may see this summer as the Obama regime and its supporters get nervous about the November presidential election.  According to the New York Post, an occupier in New York’s Zucchotti Park sent out a tweet last night that read as follows:  “We won’t make a difference if we don’t kill a cop or 2.”  This same person, whose Twitter handle is “@Smackema1,” later reportedly complained because his tweet was taken out of context.  Hmm.  I’m not sure that any context is going to make his threat more acceptable.  Let’s hope not.  Let’s pray not.

Before addressing developments in the GOP presidential race, let me admit that I was wrong about something.  Rick Santorum has much more staying power than I previously believed.  It seems to be a two-man race now between Romney and Santorum.  Many Republicans believe this will result in a brokered GOP convention, but that possibility doesn’t excite me much.  I suspect it could earn Santorum a place in the VP slot (though that’s not a given), but a brokered convention won’t change my belief that Romney is the man who will get the nomination (and I long ago predicted Santorum as a possible running mate).

I must admit that I’ve grown in my fondness for Santorum, though I didn’t vote for him in the Mississippi primary last week.  My fondness increased this morning when I heard that he admitted his support for Puerto Rican statehood but only if that commonwealth made English its official language.  The Chicago Tribune proclaimed this to be a “gaffe,” but it was undoubtedly a serious comment by the presidential contender.  I agree with him on this issue.  Not only is there nothing xenophobic or racist about a nation adopting an official language, it’s actually a very good idea.  A common language is a powerful tool for national unity and for public safety.  Mitt Romney used the comment to pounce upon Santorum, but as the Huffington Post pointed out, back in 2008 Romney supported the idea of English as our official national language.  Is this a Romney flip-flop, or is he becoming an expert at saying whatever will get him elected?  If it’s the latter, then he has an excellent example in Barack Obama.

Before I am bashed for my appreciation of a national language, let me also say that I’m in favor of every American learning a second language.  I was a twelve-year student of the public-school system of Ocean Springs, Mississippi.  The administrators and school board demonstrated how enlightened they were at that time by requiring two years of foreign language even in elementary school.  I had two years of Spanish then, and another two years in high school.  I lived in Italy for three years in the 1980’s and studied Italian at the time.  I studied Greek and Latin in seminary.  I’m not afraid of foreign languages or people from other countries.  I simply believe that Italians have the right to require that their citizens know Italian, the Spaniards can require their citizens to know Spanish, the Turks can require Turkish, and the USA can–and should–require English.  It’s not a question of hating others but of loving one’s own country and culture.

In other news, it seems that the Supreme Court today heard arguments on the question of whether or not social security benefits must be paid to children conceived AFTER a parent dies.  Yes, you read that correctly.  It seems that Robert and Karen Capato of Florida had arranged for Robert’s sperm to be collected at a reproductive center.  Sadly, he died of cancer before that sperm was used to inseminate his wife. 

After his demise Karen chose to be inseminated and she gave birth to twins.  She also applied for social security benefits as normally provided to surviving children.  The problem is that there were no surviving children when Robert left this world.  Their conception took place afterward and the legal wrangling has taken the case to the highest court in the land.  Many in the press are misrepresenting this, of course.  If you do an internet search you’ll find it wrongly headlined in some sources that the court is debating about benefits to babies conceived artificially–as if the manner of conception is the problem.  Other sources headline it so that the problem appears to be their birth after a parent’s death.  The question at hand is neither.  The question concerns benefits to children conceived 18 months after the death of one of the parents.

I don’t want to sound heartless, dear readers, but is there no end to the entitlement mentality?  Far too often it seems that such decisions are made less by way of intelligent reasoning and more by way of emotional tug.  We feel for this lady and her children.  It’s a sad story.  We wish it had a better ending.  We want to do something.  So too many of us insist that it belongs to government to make it better.  Karen Capato surely felt the emotional ties to her deceased husband that caused her to want to have his children.  I get that and I understand it entirely, but her choice has turned a widow into a widow with two orphans.  Given the particular circumstances, I question whether that choice now requires government intervention in order to support those children.  Social Security won’t be able to afford such kindnesses for much longer–at least not if the red ink continues to flow as it does now.

To all of my dear readers I say, as the famous comedian Red Skelton always ended his shows, “Good night and God bless.”  Stay in touch.  Share this blog with your liberty-loving friends.  A great nation is a terrible thing to waste, so giving up is not an option.

2 thoughts on “Giving Up is Not An Option!

  1. One of the very few statements with which I agreed by Joan Baez (great musician, confused thinker and terrible taste in husbands) said back in the SDS (Students for a Democratic Society) – everything old is new again – days was that a revolution could only be a success if it was as good for the policeman as it was for the activist.

    It seems there are those in the Occupy Movement who are clearly not of that mind.

    Regarding the “entitlement” issue, if the future of this great nation is the real entitlement which our forebearers have sought to pass to us and we seek to pass to our children, shouldn’t we be doing a better job? I look at all the trend lines – consumption as % of GDP; cumulative balance of payments; consumer debt as a % of GDP; and manufacturing employment – and I can hold no apology for the Boomer legacy.

    And welcome back, Dr John

  2. Your post was interesting and articulate. I agreed with almost everything in it. I would like to disagree with one small point. You stated, “her choice has turned a widow into a widow with two orphans.” Actually, since these children were conceived AFTER the death of her husband, they are not orphans. If the sperm donor had been anyone else, we would all agree that they were conceived out of wedlock – illegitimate (something you don’t hear much of these days). I believe it makes no difference who the sperm donor was. They are still illegitimate. And they certainly are not eligible for death benefits from Social Security.

Leave a Reply

