Take a Stand for Liberty–You’ll Enjoy It!

As a proponent for smaller government and an apologist for the Constitution, I try never to miss an opportunity to advocate for those values.  As a baby-boomer who is over fifty, I’m increasingly targeted by the marketing folks at the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP).  This conjunction of facts offers an interesting opportunity for political speech.

Here’s how it works.  Every time AARP sends out an application for membership or an invitation to use one of their associated products, I express my profound disappointment in their support of “Obamacare.”  You see, AARP always encloses a self-addressed, stamped envelope.  So I cut out my mailing address from the flyer or brochure, carefully leaving enough room for comments.  Then I use the space to succinctly express my disappointment in their preference for bigger, more expensive, more intrusive government and I explain that I’ll find another organization to patronize.

Here’s the best part:  then I place my commentary into the self-addressed, stamped envelope, and AARP gets to hear my constitional values at their own expense.

It’s very soothing.  I highly recommend it.  If you try it, I suspect you’ll find the experience addictive.

3 thoughts on “Take a Stand for Liberty–You’ll Enjoy It!

  1. wait until you get within the year before your 65th/Medicare birthday. the deluge of HMO advertising literature is overwhelming. at our place we put it to a good purpose – filling in behind a sixty year old failing wooden bulkhead. It works splendidly for that purpose. Not sure how the crabs that find their way to the land side feel about it however.

Leave a Reply

